

For Immediate Release March 4, 2009

Contact: Janet Slaughter Eissenstat

THE WHITE HOUSE ANNOUNCES REGIONAL FINALISTS FOR THE 2009-2010 CLASS OF WHITE HOUSE FELLOWS

WASHINGTON, DC – The White House announced today that 108 outstanding men and women from across the country have been selected as Regional Finalists for the White House Fellows Program. Founded in 1964 by President Lyndon Johnson, the White House Fellows Program is the nation's most prestigious program for leadership and public service.

This year's Regional Finalists represent a broad cross-section of professions, including technology, education, health care, state government, engineering, business, consulting, law, the non-profit sector, and the military. A complete list of the Regional Finalists is included below.

During March and April 2009, Regional Finalists will participate in a rigorous interview process. Based on the results of these interviews, approximately thirty candidates will be named National Finalists. The President's Commission on White House Fellowships will interview the National Finalists in June 2009 and then recommend candidates to President Barack Obama for a one-year appointment as White House Fellows.

White House Fellows spend a year working as full-time, paid special assistants to senior White House Staff, Cabinet Secretaries and other top-ranking government officials. Fellows also participate in an education program consisting of roundtable discussions with renowned leaders from the private and public sectors and trips to study U.S. policy in action both domestically and internationally.

Selection as a White House Fellow is highly competitive and based on a record of remarkable professional achievement early in one's career, evidence of leadership potential, a proven commitment to public service, and the knowledge and skills necessary to contribute successfully at the highest levels of the Federal government. Fellowships are awarded on a strictly non-partisan basis. The program has fostered a legacy of leadership, with nearly 600 alumni who are respected leaders. Alumni include former Secretary of State Colin Powell, CNN Chief Medical Correspondent Dr. Sanjay Gupta, Travelocity CEO Michelle Peluso, and Dallas Mayor Tom Leppert.

2009-2010 White House Fellows Regional Finalists:

Chisaraokwu N. Asomugha Laura M. Bacon Andrew J. Baldwin Komal Bazaz Smith Scott A. Berkowitz Hamden, CT Cambridge, MA Washington, DC Arlington, VA Columbia, MD

Trevor P. Blair Eric H. Blinderman Jeremy N. Block Christina Boiler Jacquelyn R. Bonner Sudip K. Bose Nicole E. Campbell Dimitri C. Cassimatis Robert C. Castelli Sreekanth K. Chaguturu Carolyn N. Choi Aysha A. Chowdhry Bowen Chung David W. Cooper Chad A. Crank Gery B. Cummings Lugman K. Dad Amar A. Desai Kyle W. Dietrich John E. Ethridge Jose M. Fernandez Jonathan J. Finer Theodore S. Fish Eric T. Fleckten David C. Foley Daniel P. Gallagher Rebekah E. Gee

Shawn-Pavan M. Golhar

Elisha P. Gilliam

Victor J. Glover

John T. Green
Peter F. Halvorsen
Kenneth E. Harbaugh
Sarah A. Harris
Garry A. Harsanyi
Alexander J. Hartemink
Kellie M. Hawkins
Michael J. Hillyard
Zheng Y. Huang
Ellen C. Hunter
Erica L. Jacquez Santos

Kellee T. Jacquez Santos

Sarah S. Johnson Timothy Johnson Joanna T. Katzman Moushumi M. Khan Maureen E. Kinder Michael E. Kopko Robert E. Kopp Benjamin L. Kornell Emma L. Kurnat-Thoma

H Clay Lyle Robert K. Lyman James H. Mackey San Diego, CA
New York, NY
Durham, NC
New York, NY
Washington, DC
Chicago, IL
Brooklyn, NY
Landstuhl, Germany
Southern Pines, NC
Boston, MA
Los Altos, CA

Los Altos, CA Chevy Chase, MD Santa Monica, CA Waldorf, MD Little Rock, AR Manhattan, KS Buffalo, NY

Westlake Village, CA Southlake, TX Alexandria, VA San Francisco, CA

San Francisco, CA New Haven, CT Santa Fe, NM Kirkville, NY Clarksville, TN Havertown, PA Philadelphia, PA Baltimore, MD Ridgecrest, CA Santa Monica, CA

San Diego, CA
Norfolk, VA
Hamden, CT
Indianapolis, IN
Princeton, NJ
Durham, NC
Los Angeles, CA
Jacksonville, FL
San Jose, CA
Atlanta, GA
Lakewood, CA
Chicago, IL

Cambridge, MA
Crofton, MD
Abuja, Nigeria
Ann Arbor, MI
Washington, DC
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Princeton, NJ
Palo Alto, CA
Bethesda, MD
Woodbridge, VA
Niceville, FL

Niceville, FL Brussels, Belgium Anish P. Mahajan Mehret Mandefro Brett H. Mandel Ann T. Maxwell Loren Z. McArthur Matthew Meyer Emil G. Michael Suzanne M. Miller Lisa K. Miller Kristin E. Misner James H. Moran Katherine Mossman Ali Nouri

James E. O'Harrah Patrick H. O'Mahoney Collin P. O'Mara

Collin P. O'Mara Abimbola T. Omoniyi Obinna A. Onyeagoro Brandon D. Parker Allen J. Pepper

Omar M. Rashid Kyle A. Rasmussen Kristin A. Resnansky Kendric H. Robbins

Cindy L. Rodriguez Allison I. Rogers Matthew A. Rojansky Adam R. Rosenthal

Mark A. Rothert Anthony L. Russell Manish K. Sethi Minesh P. Shah

Raj M. Shah Rachel G. Skerritt

Brooke K. Stearns Lawson Marc S. Sternberg Maura C. Sullivan Scott A. Suozzi Brian K. Surratt Natasha Tarpley Adam R. Taylor Presiliano R. Torrez

Christopher J. Voorhees Chris E. Wallace Michael E. Webber Laura I. Weinbaum Sonia A. Zeledon Wei Lily Zhou David E. Zipper Los Angeles, CA Philadelphia, PA Philadelphia, PA Santa Barbara, CA Lexington, MA Brooklyn, NY Miami Beach, FL

Washington, DC South Orange, NJ New York, NY

Washington, DC Palmdale, CA Washington, DC Fernandina Beach, FL

Corpus Christi, TX Berkeley, CA New York, NY New York, NY Montgomery, AL Springfield, VA Richmond, VA Mason, OH

New York, NY Iraq

Lutz, FL
Providence, RI
Washington, DC
San Diego, CA
Canton, IL
Stafford, VA
Brookline, MA
Bronx, NY
Philadelphia, PA

Roxbury, MA
Venice, CA
New York, NY
Palo Alto, CA
Washington, DC
Seattle, WA
Chicago, IL
Washington, DC
Albuquerque, NM
Altadena, CA

Irving, TX Austin, TX Philadelphia, PA Washington, DC Sparta, TN Brooklyn, NY